Herrooo party people J
Today, aside from the humidity, was definitely awkward and awesome. In English 3, we began reading A Raisin in the Sun. I think once my kids get over the language barrier (which, thank goodness, isn’t as intense as The Crucible), they’re going to get a lot out of this play, and that makes me happy. Each day after we read, I write on the board what they should finish in their packets by the end of the period. For example, we read about 25 pages in 1st period and I gave them the last 20 minutes of class to do the character map, the physical and personality traits for the first 4 characters (as much as they could for just a brief intro to the characters), and the first 5 study questions in the back of the packet. I told them it was independent, silent work, but once they were done, they could talk quietly—that turned out to be a huge motivator for them to get their work done. 2nd period didn’t get nearly as far as first period and that’s frustrating to me, but I realize that my 2nd period kids are WAY different from my 1st period.
In English 2, I had to have a little chat with my kids about respect. They come in after lunch like a herd of elephants and I find it annoying and ridiculous that I have to spend the first 15 minutes (no exaggeration) getting them to sit down, put their seatbelts on, STOP TALKINGGGGGG, stop touching each other, and begin reading. They were SO noisy and I’m really not in the mood for them to walk all over me anymore. A student walked in and ran his fingers through my agenda that I wrote on the board and I had to rewrite it—I was NOT happy. As I was writing on the board, I said “by the time I turn around, I want everyone in their seat and SILENT” and as soon as I said it, and I know they heard it because about 3 different people mocked me, I knew it wasn’t going to happen. I turned around about 45 seconds later and there was a girl scratching a boy, a girl sticking her tongue in a boy’s ear, a piggy-back ride, and every single student was flapping their jaws. I stood there, looking at my watch, and it took them 2 minutes to stop talking and sit down. Me= less than pleased. I stood there in silence for about a minute and told them, very sternly might I add, that I was over the disrespect. I worked really hard in college and I have worked my butt off for them and I won’t tolerate their disrespect, or their attitudes, for one more minute. By the time I was done saying that, I was shaking a little—I think they got the point. No one spoke for the rest of the period, unless they raised their hands or I asked them a question directly. We’ll see how tomorrow goes.
Awkward:
- My kids snickering at everything they read and making it sexual. The awkward part? Do you know how hard it is to try to discontinue that behavior when it makes me chuckle, too? I haven’t let them see me laugh, but I have to take a couple seconds to refrain from laughing out loud.
- I took homeroom outside to read today since it was so nice, but I forgot about the humidity. I could literally hear my hair frizzing. You guessed it- the sweet hair swoop was back.
- My kids are very loud when I take them out of the classroom. I need to talk to them about our location transitions, or we won’t be able to leave the classroom anymore.
- I just got my new glasses and I’m still getting used to the new prescription. I bumped into things all weekend and it didn’t stop this morning. I told first period if they laughed at me one more time, I’d give them a homework assignment.
Awesome:
- I have amazing support from the other English teachers, most specifically my CT. The faculty at MDHS is superior.
- 2 different teachers at MDHS have told me how they’re using the tools I presented last week. The drafting teacher uses Glogster for a review of terms and the band teacher is using Wordle for their concert programs J
- I applied for my first big girl job today. Really weird. Reaaaallly awesome.
- I GRADUATE IN 26 DAYS!!
BYEBYEBYEBYEBYE <3
No comments:
Post a Comment